April 9, 2013

My son, my brother, and I took a walk at a marsh this past Saturday to see what ducks were migrating through. The spring waterfowl migration is an event I try to view a couple of times every spring, as most of the male ducks are getting their breeding plumage going, and there seems to be more of a variety of species coming through in the spring than during the fall hunting season.

My walking companions were taken aback a little bit by the variety : bluebills, ringnecks, northern shovelers, pintails, mallards, blue-wing teals, wood ducks…it was a wonderful walk. My photos turned out terrible, so sorry there aren’t any of the waterfowl.

crocuses

I’ve been reading The Christian World of The Hobbit by Devin Brown, and in it I find a section that I can really relate to – Tolkien’s Antidote To Greed : Sacramental Ordinary.

It’s just a section explaining how J.R.R. Tolkien found the extraordinary in the ordinary, a path I have been on for some time and try to express to those around me. A small excerpt I like :

Growing grass, fluttering leaves, flowing water, singing, green meadows, favorite trees, familiar hills – these ordinary things, Tolkien suggests, have something extraordinary about them.

I feel the same way.

chicken eggs

We have had two days since my last letter that we have gathered three eggs a day instead of two. Slowly ramping up! The hens are just coming of age, really, so I’m not expecting eight a day yet.

Take care –

Casey

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

