April 6, 2013

the chickens

Two of my kids have been out to check for eggs this week and have found a clutch of two, which is where we are at right now – two a day. I know we could do better if we simulated sunlight and all that, but that’s just not in the cards right now. Anyway, back to the kids and eggs. The expressions on my kids’ faces when they come in with eggs : THAT is the way a kid is supposed to feel on most occasions. They LOVE finding eggs and it gets me to wondering about kids and Easter egg hunting.

Is the wonder of kids finding eggs a base human trait or do we condition kids to the wonderment through hunting for Easter eggs? Is there something in it that makes kids feel like they are helping provide for others, or is it that eggs are a universal symbol for life and kids just know it?

Just some thoughts I’ve been pondering when I’ve had a few minutes. Some more chicken pics, because chickens are cool :

the chickens

the chickens

the chickens

I’ve also been filling spare minutes watching The Hobbit – the new version. In the course of a week, I have not been able to watch it all the way through….The kids and I went to see it when it came out in the theaters, but being a fan of Tolkien, I had to buy the DVD as soon as it came out. And yes, I adore the book and no movie will ever be made to match it, we all know that. I find the movie pretty good, but I am really disappointed in this one aspect : Radagast The Brown.

Tolkien didn’t include Radagast much in the affairs of his fiction, but did he really intend for us to think that a wizard would walk around with bird shit caked to his face? I can let the chickadee nest in his hair under his hat, but the poo? Very disappointing. My interpretation of Radagast through my readings went NOWHERE near this.

radagast

It’s like they went with Saruman’s interpretation of him. Oh well, I still have MY interpretation, which is better.

Take care –

Casey

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

